Mark Briscoe – Director of Schools

The Director of Schools manages all aspects of the PreK-12 educational program in Grainger County. He works closely with the elected members of the School Board to provide governance and leadership for the district, including but not limited to, school planning and vision setting, system finances, establishing policy, and monitoring performance. Currently, The Director of Schools in Grainger County oversees the daily operations of one primary school, three elementary schools, one middle school, one high school, one PreK-12 unit school, one high school academy, and one adult high school. With approximately 265 certified staff and 160 support staff, our schools educate more than 3,300 students. Students are transported county-wide on 53 buses each day and enjoy a free school breakfast as part of our Universal Breakfast federally funded program. Grainger County Schools are fortunate to have fostered a strong working relationship with The Grainger County Sheriff’s Office to provide a trained School Resources Officer in each of our schools. Because the safety and well-being of our students and staff are most important, each building also employs a full-time registered nurse.

Together with the Director, all employees are committed to meeting student needs, so they are prepared to meet tomorrow’s challenges. Grainger County is a great place to live, work, and learn. Under the guidance of the Director of Schools, our community exemplifies the motto of Grainger County Schools – TEACH. LEARN. SUCCEED. Together, we work to allow educators to TEACH with rigor and relevance so that students will LEARN the skills and knowledge needed to SUCCEED in becoming community, college, and career ready. For more information about the Grainger County school system please click here:

Important Information

Mailing Address:
Grainger County Schools
P. O. Box 38
Rutledge, TN 37861

Physical Address:
7850 Rutledge Pike
Rutledge, TN 37861

Phone: 865-828-3611
Fax: 865-828-4357

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00 – 4:30